“The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' Book Award is an annual award given to the author of the book voted most outstanding by students …in participating Illinois schools. The award is named in honor of Rebecca Caudill who lived and wrote in Urbana, Illinois, for nearly 50 years. The award is given in recognition for her literary talent and the universal appeal of her books which have touched the hearts of many children and young adults” (Rebecca Caudill Young Book Award website).

At St Benedict Preparatory School, students in grades 6-8 may choose 3 or more books to read from the list of 20 fiction and nonfiction titles.  In early March, those students who have read the required number of books may vote for their favorite choice. 

Here is the list of 2016 nominees:

This Journal Belongs to Ratchet by Nancy Cavanaugh (RL: 4-5)

Will in Scarlet by Matthew Cody (RL: 5-7)

Mountain Dog by Margarita Engle (RL 4-5)

The Prisoner of Cell 25 by Richard Evans (RL 6-8 )

Hidden by Helen Frost (RL 5-7)

Chomp by Carl Hiassen ( RL 5-7)

Titanic: Voices From the Disaster by Deborah Hopkinson (RL 5-7)

See You at Harry's by Johanna Knowles (RL 7-8)

Girl Aladdin by Kekla Magoon (RL 4-5)

Cinder by Marissa Meyer (RL 7-8)

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (RL 7-8)

Shadow on the Mountain by Margi Preus (RL 5-7)

May B.  by Caroline Rose (RL 4-5)

The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson (RL 5-7)

Lincoln's Grave Robbers by Steven Sheinkin (RL 5-7 )

Rump by Liesl Shurtliff (RL 4-5)

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan (RL 5-7)

Golden Boy by Tara Sullivan (RL 5-7)

The President Has Been Shot by James Swanson (RL 5-7)

Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage (RL 5-7)